One Iowa Board of Directors

One Iowa’s board of directors is committed to advancing our mission and vision through strategic leadership. The team’s commitment and stewardship ensures we have the best practices and policies in place to deepen the connection between One Iowa and the LGBTQ community.


Scott Valbert

Board Chair
Vice President, Senior Marketing & Communications Officer, Bankers Trust


Gabe Walsh

Vice Chair
Legal Counsel, Iowa Association of Realtors


Jenny Smith

Past Chair
Financial Service Representative, Principal


Sophia Sledge

Financial Services Professional, New York Life Insurance Company


Turk Pierson

Credit Analyst, Wells Fargo


Sharon Malheiro

Board Emeritus
Retired Senior Shareholder, Davis Brown Law Firm



Board Members


Joe Benesh

President + CEO, The Ingenuity Company


Wayne Ellis

Retired, Principal


Katherine Imborek, MD

Family Medicine Physician, Clinical Assistant Professor, Director of Offsite Primary Care, University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics (LGBTQ Clinic)


Natali Justiniano Pahl

Assistant Vice President, Team Member Development Director – EMC Insurance Companies 


Jeremy Weiss

Senior Manager – Insurance Operations, Ernst & Young


Elle Wyant

Account Executive, United Parcel Service