• IPNWebSlider

  • GayGraySurveySlide

  • T-shirt-slide

  • DonnaSculpture


Statement: One Iowa promotes civil dialogue in response to the Family Leadership Summit

AMES, IOWA–On Saturday, August 9, The Family Leader will host its annual “Family Leadership Summit” at Stephens Auditorium in Ames. Led by the organization’s president and CEO Bob Vander Plaats, the summit is “designed to educate and mobilize the conservative base regarding worldview application and issues that impact the family.”

The summit’s speakers for 2014 include Iowa Congressman Steve King, U.S. Senate nominee Joni Ernst, Texas Senator Ted Cruz and his father Rafael Cruz, 2012 presidential candidates Rick Santorum and Rick Perry, former Governor of Arkansas Mike Huckabee, Dr. Alveda King, the Family Research Council’s Tony Perkins, and more. Governor Terry Branstad and Lieutenant Governor Kim Reynolds are also scheduled to speak at the summit, which is funded by the Branstad/Reynolds Campaign, Citizens United, the National Organization for Marriage, the Family Research Council, and numerous other conservative organizations.

Read More


Two Courts Divided

Between January and March of this year, One Iowa held more than 60 events across the state to educate the lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) community on the importance of the Affordable Care Act.

Under the ACA, LGBT Iowans were impacted positively. Some were able to afford health insurance for the first time. Obviously, this has major implications for the well being of our community here in Iowa and across the country.

Read More