The 2019 LGBTQ Legacy Leader Awardees Are…

Seven community leaders and role models from across the state have been selected to receive the inaugural LGBTQ Legacy Leader Awards. These awards are the result of a partnership between One Iowa and dsm magazine aiming to recognize the important contributions of LGBTQ Iowans.

This year’s recipients of the LGBTQ Legacy Leader Award are:

  • George Belitsos of Ames, founder of the youth services organization YSS
  • Karen Mackey of Sioux City, attorney and champion of Native American rights
  • Sharon K. Malheiro of Des Moines, attorney and prominent civil rights advocate
  • Sonia Reyes-Snyder of Des Moines, executive director of the Iowa Office of Latino Affairs and crusader for Latinx rights
  • Jeorgia Robison of Marion, attorney and pioneer in Iowans’ understanding of transgender people
  • Jonathan C. Wilson of Des Moines, attorney and former Des Moines Public Schools board member

A separate honor, the LGBTQ Ally Award, goes to someone who is not LGBTQ but who has a record of defending the rights and dignity of all persons. The inaugural LGBTQ Ally Award goes to Terri Hale of Des Moines, recent retiree from Principal and tireless advocate for LGBTQ individuals and others.

Please join me in congratulating and celebrating these incredible individuals. You’ll learn more about the awards and recipients in the September issue of dsm magazine. Additionally, save the date for the joint LGBTQ Legacy Leader Awards and LGBTQLeadership Institute graduation event on October 24 at the Temple for Performing Arts.