One Iowa North Selects Scholarship Recipients

One Iowa North, a Mason City affiliate of the state’s leading lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer/questioning (LGBTQ) organization, has chosen the recipients of the Craig W. Hickok Memorial Scholarship. This $1000 scholarship is awarded each spring to self-identified LGBTQ people or allies pursuing higher education over 17 years of age.

The 2017 recipients of the Craig W. Hickock Memorial Scholarship are:

  • Krystal O’Morrow of Des Moines attending Cornell College
  • Emma Pradarelli of Iowa City attending University of Iowa
  • Elijah Willig of Grinnell attending Middlebury College

“The Craig W. Hickok Memorial Scholarship helps empower LGBTQ and allied students to continue their education and make a positive difference in their community,” One Iowa Executive Director Daniel Hoffman-Zinnel said. “I congratulate this year’s recipients and look forward to seeing their bright future unfold before them.”

The board of One Iowa North established the Craig W. Hickock Scholarship Fund to acknowledge Hickock’s lifelong commitment to inclusion, education, support and equality by creating safe, appropriate and individualized educational settings to meet student needs. Hickock was a passionate supporter of the arts, including the musical, theatrical and visual arts efforts of students. Hickock allied himself with multiple social justice causes including racial equality, women’s rights and support of the LGBTQ community.